intrepid archaeologist, avid cook

Bacon-wrapped Stuffed Chicken

OK.  It’s been a while.  Did you miss me?  I know you did.  It’s been tres busy over here, what with me freaking out about messes and shampooing carpets.  Not to mention the need to get some last minute fun things out of the way before summer officially ends (NEXT WEEK!!) and I can no longer take a Tuesday, grab my kids, and go to the shore.

So, here I sit, with a glass of wine and a folder full of photos of food, and I thought I would share them with you.

This is one of my ‘fancy’ recipes.  I make it when I want to impress someone.  The first time I tried this, DH told me it was as good as restaurant food.

 

I generally use chicken fingers, because they are smaller, and easier to pound out and roll up, but you can do it with a whole breast as well.

 

The first step is to prepare the filling.  I like to use swiss chard in my filling, but any leafy green will do.  The Chard has a nice kick which contrasts with the chicken and compliments the bacon.  You saute the chard with onions and garlic in olive oil, with a little salt and pepper.  Just saute until the greens are wilted – they will cook more after being rolled up into the chicken.

Pound out the chicken.  This is important because unpounded chicken does not roll up well, and is generally too fat to want to roll up.

 

After you have thoroughly pounded the will to live and be fat out of your chicken, you take some grated cheese.  Did I mention there is cheese in this dish?  There is.  I like to use some provolone and sharp cheddar.

 

After the cheese, add the chard mixture.  Not too much, just a layer.

 

Then you roll it up.  Start at the narrow end and then roll toward the fat end, tucking in any of the filling that falls out.

 

Next, take a piece of bacon and wrap it around the rolled up chicken.  I wrap the bacon in the opposite direction of the chicken roll, to help keep the chicken together without having to use a toothpick.  Repeat all these steps until you have no more chicken left and place the rolls of chicken in an oven safe dish.  I use a wonderful stone dish from Pampered Chef that has ridges on the bottom, so the chicken isn’t sitting in too much fat, but I have made this without the special ridged pan and it turns out fine.

 

And now, into the oven.  I cook these for about 45 minutes at 350 degrees, until the juices are clear and the bacon is done.

You can make a lovely sauce for this by taking the juices from the bottom of the pan in the oven and whisking in some cornstarch and a pinch of house seasoning.  Cook it on medium heat, stirring constantly, until the mixture bubbles and then remove from the heat.  It will thicken a bit as it cools.

 

When the chicken is done, take it out, let it sit for about 5 minutes and then plate it with the sauce, like I did in the photo at the beginning.  This is a favorite dish in my house, mostly because the girl likes bacon and as far as she is concerned, if there is bacon, it is gourmet.  It is really not difficult to do, and only has a few ingredients.

The details:

3 leaves Swiss Chard, chopped

1 onion, minced

2 cloves garlic, minced

Chicken fingers or chicken breast.

bacon

for the sauce:

1/3- 1/2 cup drippings from the pan

3 Tbsp cornstarch

 

Leave a Reply

